Life and People

Curse for a Blessing

CURSE FOR A BLESSING

Hello, I am Don. They look at me and I can barely tell what their eyes say. I try to make a guess about what they might be thinking but the harder I try the more it backfires on me. It could be admiration, it could be a longing, it could be regret or maybe it is all these mixed up. I realize we all become quiet so I decide to break the silence. ‘I did not get your names please.’ They take a while before finally introducing themselves. They unwillingly mention their year of study. I could tell it took them more than just an effort to do that.

‘You look pretty young to be finishing college.’ I added expecting to get a blush, giggle or better still a laugh. I thought I saw a tear form in her eyes. ‘‘Did I say something wrong?’’ I inquire. ‘‘No not really.’’ They were not prepared to talk more about themselves so I decide to excuse myself.

From the short conversation, I could tell that Marion and her friends were not ready to leave college. Or better put, they were not ready to venture into the outside world. Four years and they still seemed not prepared to leave college. Their faces needed more oiling, their nails needed more pedicure, hair needed more shampoo, their fingers and wrists needed more jewellery, their body better clothing. It appeared they only knew one place where they could easily get these stuff. Or maybe I was being overly keen on them. For lack of better words, they needed more time.

However, it turns out that their case was particularly different. Marion and her friends were still blaming the system for having put them to do a course they never wanted. They blamed everyone and everything for having colluded in contributing to ‘their mess’. They still believed they deserved better.

I knew they were neither the first nor the last to be going through this. I think it is a stage each student goes through and especially those who think they were not duly placed for the course they take. Like Marion and her friends, you could blame the system. You could also blame everything and everyone. Worse still you could blame yourself.

Maybe the case could be different if they chose to play their part. Not that I am blaming them. The case could even be better not only for Marion and her friends but also for others who annually go through the same system that Marion went through if a mechanism was put to incorporate them in colleges when they join.

 

2 thoughts on “Curse for a Blessing

Leave a Reply

